Hani Mitwasi – Mawtini (موطني)

This is one of the most beautiful and moving songs I have ever heard. The song was written back in 1934 by the Palestinian poet, Ibrahim Touqan and was recently performed by Hani Mitwasi. It is the de facto Palestinian anthem and the official Iraqi anthem (as of 2004). The lyrics are so meaningful and Mitwasi’s voice is the perfect vehicle to carry the tone of the song and the emotion behind it.

It makes me miss my home.

PS: I’ve added the lyrics in the comment section for those interested in the meaning.

Enjoy, xx

4 Comments

Filed under New discoveries, Wind Down

4 responses to “Hani Mitwasi – Mawtini (موطني)

  1. My homeland, My homeland
    Glory and beauty, Sublimity and splendor
    Are in your hills, Are in your hills
    Life and deliverance, Pleasure and hope
    Are in your air, Are in your Air
    Will I see you? Will I see you?
    Safe and comforted, Sound and honored
    Will I see you in your eminence?
    Reaching to the stars, Reaching to the stars
    My homeland, My homeland
    My homeland, My homeland
    (The youth will not tire, ’till your independence
    Or they die, Or they die
    We will drink from death
    And will not be to our enemies
    Like slaves, Like slaves
    We do not want, We do not want
    An eternal humiliation
    Nor a miserable life
    We do not want
    But we will bring back
    Our storied glory, Our storied glory
    My homeland, My homeland
    The sword and the pen
    Not the talk nor the quarrel
    Are our symbols, Are our symbols
    Our glory and our covenant
    And a duty to be faithful
    Moves us, moves us
    Our glory, Our glory
    Is an honorable cause
    And a waving standard
    O, behold you
    In your eminence
    Victorious over your enemies
    Victorious over your enemies
    My homeland, My homeland)
    () are not sung in the song, but are part of the original lyrics

  2. what does it refers to say like what is the meaning of the athem

    • Pamela, the anthem is meant as a de-facto anthem to Palestine. The song describes how beautiful the country is and how dear the home land is. The author describes the beauty of it and wonders if he will ever get the chance to visit and see it for himself.

Comments on the tune?

